Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Creative Writing Scholarship, Summer 2014, Skidmore

2014 SCHOLARSHIPS to New York State Summer Writers Institute at Skidmore College

To Teachers of Creative Writing:

Several generous gifts and the Institute's commitment to access and diversity enable us to launch a scholarship competition each year. The competition is open to students enrolled full-time in undergraduate or graduate programs who are nominated by their creative writing instructors. In 2013 the Institute awarded 50 tuition scholarships to students from, among other institutions, Columbia, Harvard, Williams, Hamilton, Smith, Rutgers, Texas State Univ., San Diego State Univ., Northwestern, Boston Univ., Univ. of Arizona, Mt. Holyoke College, Univ. of Maryland, Wellesley, Swarthmore, UMass-Amherst, Ohio State Univ., Bennington College, USC, Univ. of West Georgia, Univ. of Iowa, Lafayette College, Univ. of Florida, Univ. of New Orleans, Syracuse Univ., Univ. California-Santa Barbara, and Vanderbilt Univ.

This year the scholarships are offered for two-week and four-week workshops June 30 – July 25, 2014 in fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction. Our teaching staff includes the following writers.

FICTION: Rick Moody, Paul Harding, Amy Hempel, Elizabeth Benedict, Adam Braver, Danzy Senna, Victoria Redel, Howard Norman, Cristina Garcia, Jim Shepard, Joanna Scott.

POETRY: Frank Bidart, Henri Cole, Campbell McGrath, Rosanna Warren, Peg Boyers.

NON-FICTION: Phillip Lopate, Honor Moore.

VISITING WRITERS: Marilynne Robinson, Paul Auster, Robert Pinsky, Joyce Carol Oates, Russell Banks, Charles Simic, Caryl Phillips, Jamaica Kincaid, Francine Prose, Mark Strand, William Kennedy, Jane Shore, Jorie Graham, Tom Healy, Siri Hustvedt, Louise Gluck, James Longenbach, Chase Twichell.

To nominate students, send an email to writerscholarship@skidmore.edu indicating the names and email addresses (please be sure the emails are current) of those you recommend to us. Up to six nominated students from each writing instructor are welcome. We are of course looking for particularly strong writers, and hope also to increase the diversity of our student body with a special Minority Student Scholarship, in addition to our Collegiate Scholarship.

All faculty nominations must be received AT THE LATEST by February 25th. All student applications are due by March 10th. Scholarships will be awarded by MARCH 16th. The names of scholarship award winners, along with their schools, will be announced to all applicants on or around MARCH 20th.

Program applications and further information on the New York State Summer Writers Institute at Skidmore College may be found by following the links to the Writers Institute from this web site: www.skidmore.edu/summerwriters .

Many thanks and best wishes,
Robert Boyers, Director, New York State Summer Writers Institute
Professor of English, Skidmore College
Editor, Salmagundi

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.